Skip to content

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

September 1, 2009

 

 

When I was little, my brother had a book about the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, in which the TMNT defeated the bad guys (of course!) and celebrated with pizza. Splinter made them the pizza from his secret recipe, which was given at the back of the book. Splinter’s pizzas soon became a regular fixture in my house, and I still call them that 15 years later:

P1030033

English muffin pizzas = Splinter’s pizzas! 😀

 

Mine might be a little more grown up than the 5 year old version, with the red pepper flakes, but not much! lol.

 

On the side was a super simple salad with spinach + goat cheese + pesto parmesan dressing.

P1030031

I haven’t even made a dent in the Costco-purchased goat cheese! Any suggestions?

Eats earlier today included some sort of veggie wrap. It was soggy, and had mushrooms (ew!) and olives (ew! ew!) on it. I had two bites and threw it out.

P1030026

And a cookie. It’s so hard to eat healthy at conferences/workshops!

P1030025

   Once back in class I scarfed down this super-smushed PB&J I made before rushing out the door this morning (thank goodness I did, or I would have been STARVING!)  P1030029

When we broke for a break, there was fruit! Yay! I had some delicious pineapple, strawberries and grapes with about a tsp of vanilla yogurt.

P1030030

Even with the fruit, I was starving after this workshop today, and still had some work to get done before going home. Thankfully, I found some instant oatmeal in the lab, which held me over until the Splinter’s Pizzas!

 

Lesson learned: when attending conferences/workshops/anywhere there is ‘provided’ food bring LOTS of your own snacks!! Just in case 🙂

 

Coming soon at TWIST:

  • HFCS – is it really that bad?
  • and some super exciting news!   
3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2009 11:28 pm

    I love that picture of your wrap!!! It looks absolutely delicious.

  2. September 2, 2009 5:53 am

    I love making english muffin pizzas! They’re so yummy!

  3. September 2, 2009 4:30 pm

    Yeah, it’s hard when people don’t provide a lot of variety! The English muffin pizza looks mighty tasty and red pepper flakes is always a must 😉

Leave a Reply

