Skip to content

Where Did Sunday Go?

August 30, 2009

Tonight’s post is going to be quick – I’m really tired tonight! I’ve been on the go all day, and Sunday went by way too fast. I’m not ready for Monday tomorrow!!

 

Breakfast used up some of last night’s leftovers:

P1020989

Potatoes, fried in 1 teaspoon of canola oil with onions and corn. With lots of hot sauce and an over-easy egg!

P1020990

I stopped for a coffee on my way in to school this morning, and kicked off this week’s challenge for myself: no artificial sweeteners!

P1020991

I don’t have splenda/sweet and low/equal etc. in too many things, but two things jump out at me: coffee + diet coke. I don’t know if artificial sweeteners are that bad – but they certainly aren’t beneficial too my health. In addition, I try to eat organic foods to avoid pesticides, so actively adding an artificial substance to my coffee seems counterintuitive. So this week, I am going to try to have no artificial sweeteners. That will mean a combination of using sugar in my coffee – but less and less, to try and get to drinking black coffee. If I want a Coke, I’m going to have to want the calories too!

 

Lunch was my friend the falafel wrap 🙂

P1020994

 

I spent the afternoon watching theHusband play slo-pitch. It was a HOT and sunny day, and while I sat in the shade and drank lots of water, the heat totally drained me.

I had a few a lot of potato chips too – that may have counteracted some of the water – I forgot how salty chips are!

theHusband is bringing home pizza for dinner – kind of an ironic conclusion to my three week challenge of food blogging!       

Tomorrow: what I thought and learnt from food blogging. Do you think I’m going to continue? 😀

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2009 5:29 am

    Those potatoes look awesome!

    I removed artificial sweeteners like splenda from my diet as well. Have you ever tried Stevia or Agave Nectar? Those are healthy alternatives! 🙂

  2. Brandi permalink
    August 31, 2009 6:21 am

    great breakfast! and I can’t wait to see your reflections.

    definitely try using honey and agave nectar if you really need some sweetness. I stopped using splenda in my coffee about 1.5 years ago and now I don’t need anything in it! just a splash of milk.

  3. August 31, 2009 4:02 pm

    Can I hop on board your challenge?! I too am going for NO artificial sweeteners this week. It’s hard, huh. Do you know of any protein powders that don’t use them? (And I don’t even want them to contain stevia).

    • August 31, 2009 4:08 pm

      Let’s do it! 😀

      I didn’t even think of protein powder though. Man, artificial sweeteners are in everything! I just checked mine, and yep – sucralose.

      I’ll keep my eye out for a ‘plain’ protein powder!

  4. August 31, 2009 4:36 pm

    Potatoes + eggs for breakfast = total comfort food 🙂 The falafel wrap looks fabulous as well! Mmm, do I spy tzatziki in there?

    • August 31, 2009 4:39 pm

      tahini, I think. But the place I got the wrap from also makes amazing tzatziki! yum 🙂

  5. August 31, 2009 5:01 pm

    Mmm your leftovers look awesome!

Leave a Reply

