Skip to content

Sweet Like Apple Pie

August 29, 2009

 

First off, I want to say THANK YOU! to anyone who comments on my posts. Each one brightens my day so much 😀

 

I had a fabulous dinner tonight! And it was almost all local. Yay! for the few months produce grows in Alberta!  🙂

 

P1020985

  • corn on the cob (AB!), with 1 tsp olive oil.
  • boiled potatoes (AB!)  with a little bit of the HUGE thing of goat cheese I got at Costco. Seriously, expect to see lots of goat cheese in the next little while!
  • 1/2 a pork chop (AB!). I don’t actually know if it was a pork chop or not. What makes a chop a chop? theHusband grilled these with some Jerk seasoning – so good!! I love jerk spice, but man it’s hot! So it went nicely with the potato. and corn. lol

 

In other news, I have this tree in my back yard. (Breaking news, right?)

P1020953

And it has these beautiful flowers in the spring. And then crabapples in the summer/fall.

P1020954 

What’s a crabapple? It’s like a teeny tiny little apple – about 1” in diameter. A tart and sour apple though – not overly sweet.

 

P1020955

 

I wasn’t sure what to do with these minature apples, until I found this recipe. Apparently, you can make pie with crabapples. I’m much to lazy for pie though, so I decided to make a crisp. Most crisp has tons of sugar and butter though – I cut the typical amounts in half to make it a little lighter, but still tasty.

 

P1020986

TWIST A Little Bit Lighter Crabapple Crisp

 

Ingredients (apples):

  • 6 cups of sliced unpeeled crabapples or fall apples
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tablespoon flour
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons lemon juice 
  • 1  tablespoon butter
  • 1  tablespoon cinnamon

Ingredients (topping):

  • 2 cups  rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons butter

Directions:

  1. In large pot steam sliced apples 1- 2 minutes.
  2. Cool 1- 2 minutes.
  3. Add the rest of the ingredients. Pour into a baking pan sprayed with non-stick spray
  4. Combine topping ingredients in a separate bowl. You really do need the butter, or it won’t be a crisp! Just apples with oatmeal on top.
  5. Pour topping over apple mixture.
  6. Bake at 350* for 30 minutes.

*Recipe based on Recipezarr Recipe #99776

 

**If using regular apples, I would peel them – apple crisp is much better without the peels, crabapples are just too small to peel all of them! I would also omit the butter in the apples – you don’t need it.

 

P1020978

after steaming

P1020980     with cinnamon mixtureP1020984about to bake     

 

P1020988

with a little ice cream 🙂

I’ve still got lots more crabapples left – what to do, what to do. Maybe some juice?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2009 6:05 am

    I love crisps! They’re perfect for Fall!

  2. August 30, 2009 9:16 am

    applesauce? THANKS to your post- i now know what kinda of apple tree is in my neighborhood. i ripped one off thinking- cool! mini apple! but now i know! awesome!

  3. Chelle permalink
    August 30, 2009 10:31 am

    You can make crab apple jelly! Ooh yum!

    I had a crab apple tree growing up but always thought it was “junk fruit” (i.e. you couldn’t do anything with it. It was too sour and not fun to eat off the tree. If only I had it now, I know all kinds of stuff I could do with it!

  4. August 30, 2009 3:31 pm

    I am so jealous you have that tree in your backyard! I want one. I actally never knew you could bake with crabapples, so I’m really glad you posted this. I cannot wait for fall…I don’t know why, but I’ve really been craving the season lately!

  5. August 30, 2009 6:41 pm

    Love your tree! That’s so cool you made something out of the crabapples. The crisp looks great!

  6. August 31, 2009 8:18 pm

    Goat cheese on potatoes??? I must try this.

Leave a Reply

