Skip to content

I have been starving today

August 29, 2009

 

Probably because all I had for breakfast was this little bowl of yogurt (with a bit of granola and coconut flakes):

P1020943

I was in a rush though – we were off to the Farmer’s Market. We got there later than usual today, and it was so busy. I don’t like crowds – next week I think we’ll be there early!

 

We got some great stuff though!

 

Farm fresh eggs from happy chickens – theHusband told me that when he was growing up, and his grandma had chickens, he always found that the speckled/spotted eggs were the best, so we picked as many of those as we could.

P1020965

 

Peaches and blueberries from BC (which in Alberta is the closest thing we’re going to get to local fruit :))

P1020964

 

Alberta lettuce and peppers. I think the zucchini is from BC. Again, close enough! 🙂

 

P1020958

 

And some corn on the cob:

 

P1020961

Plus some pork chops, chicken breasts and bacon (!!). I don’t find that the free-range pork is that much more expensive than the grocery store variety, but I wince every time we buy organic chicken. It’s so expensive!! Worth it, but expensive.

 

We rounded out our grocery shopping at Superstore, where sadly I had to buy non-organic spinach.  (Seriously – did Calgary go on a health food kick this week? This was one of the last bags at all of spinach I could find. I  couldn’t find black beans either!)

P1020966

I always try to buy organic spinach because it’s on the dirty-dozen list (produce with the most amount of pesticides. For produce I don’t get at the Farmer’s Market, if it’s not on the list, I don’t worry too much about buying organics. Like bananas. They’ve already flown all the way from Ecuador anyways – you’re not going to help the environment too much by buying organic bananas. And you don’t eat the peel.  Well, I don’t 😉

 

However, the lack of spinach was made up for with this exciting ($1.39!)  find:

 

P1020948

 

Hummus is like $5 in the deli! $1.39 in the international aisle! woot!

And this beauty, which I can’t wait to dive into:

 

P1020947

 

Eats this afternoon included a peach:

 

P1020946

un-fried rice (1 egg scrambled with some broccoli and corn. Add brown rice and soy sauce. super easy and super tasty)  P1020944

an English muffin with some natural pb and some homemade blueberry jam. I told you, I’ve been starving!          

P1020950

and a crabapple. How cute is this little guy? It’s only like 1.5” in diameter!

P1020952   

How is your Saturday going so far? Mine’s been wonderfully lazy.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. oliviaawbrey permalink
    August 29, 2009 4:32 pm

    Mine’s been wonderfully lazy as well–it even included some baking and nice french music. 🙂

  2. August 29, 2009 6:07 pm

    Sounds like you’ve had a great day! I’ve been starving today too. I hate days like this. I’m jealous that your farmers market sells eggs and meat. Ours is tiny and only sells veggies.

  3. August 29, 2009 7:34 pm

    Thanks for the link to the ‘Dirty Dozen’ list!! That’s so great to know! I buy most of my produce from a local co-op which has all organic and locally grown stuff but sometimes, I run up to the 24 hr grocery store when I can’t get to the co-op and that list is really helpful!

    I loved that issue of Clean Eating! I get so excited to health/food magazines!

  4. August 29, 2009 8:04 pm

    Well, the breakfast sure LOOKS delicious even if it wasn’t the most filling meal. 😉

    LOVE all your farmer’s market finds. All that produce looks so delicious. Have fun playing around with it!

    xxoo
    Heather

Leave a Reply

