Skip to content

Sweet Potato! Sweet Potato!

August 28, 2009

 

I had a fun day today. I stayed home and I cleaned and did laundry. (what? you don’t think that’s fun?)  I also stayed in my pajamas until lunch. 🙂

I had one of these peanut butter cookies this morning after breakfast – and again this afternoon. I love these. They were so easy to make, and I think only ~125 calories each.

P1020933

 

I went with my Dad to Costco for lunch. My dad makes me laugh – when you’re shopping with him you’re there to get what’s on the list. Quickly! We don’t stop to browse the coolness that is Costco. But he bought me a freaking huge thing of goat cheese, so I was thrilled. 🙂

And a hot dog for lunch.

hmm. the Husband shops like that too – quickly, and for exactly what’s on the list. Must be a man thing. Me, I like to browse.

    

Dinner tonight was wonderfulness. Homemade burgers with sweet potato fries!

P1020940

 

I’ve discovered how to make sweet potatoes fabulous – cut thin, brush with olive oil and various spices. Bake on a cookie sheet at 400* for 25 minutes – do not let the sweet potato slices touch each other! Give them lots of space. A sweet potato bubble of personal space. And then they will get all lovely and crispy 🙂

P1020939   

The burgers were from our 1/6 of a cow. Which turned out to be very cost effective: $290 for about 70 pounds of beef (assortment roasts/steaks/ground beef). At about $4/pound this is similar to what I’d pay for ground beef at the grocery store, and way cheaper than the steaks/roasts. Definitely cheaper than the Farmer’s Market – but still supporting a local farmer. If there is a butcher at your local farmers market, talk to them about buying in bulk! Split with a friend, and store the meat in the freezer – it will cut down your grocery bill and support your local economy.

I topped my burger with mustard, spinach, cheddar and caramelized onions.

P1020935

 

Tomorrow is Farmer’s Market Saturday! What deliciousness will I find to go with all of my goat cheese!?

 

I’m going to have to look quickly though – even at the Farmer’s Market theHusband isn’t up for much browsing – we’re there to get our list!

 

How do the men you know like to shop?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2009 9:59 pm

    YUM! i usually microwave my sweet potato.
    DUDE! my dad is TOTALLY different from yours. he goes to supermarkets for FUN. He loves to wander the aisles. he got LOST in target. In costco he goes off and wanders each aisle and peruses each product and runs back with something interesting. it’s pretty hilarious. some of my best memories are walking the supermarket with him pushing the cart and me walking beside him (i wa slike 8 years old or something.) now it’s more like me pushing the cart and him walkingaround. wow. things have changed! =D love the blog and pictures! yummy!

  2. August 28, 2009 10:41 pm

    Oh man! I made sweet potato fries the other night but yours look ten times better. I’ll have to try your method!

  3. August 29, 2009 12:00 am

    hee hee hee LOVE the title, because sweet potato IS something to be that excited over!! YAY!
    And mmm….caramelized onions on burger is the shitz!
    Oh, and my bro LOVES to shop MORe than me…he has twice the amount of clothes as me!

  4. August 29, 2009 10:24 am

    That dinner just sounds fabulous! I adore sweet potatoes. 🙂

    Have a great time at the Farmer’s Market. I can’t wait to see what you find.

    xxoo
    Heather

  5. Chelle permalink
    August 29, 2009 1:45 pm

    Do you have a big chest freezer or do you fit that all in your fridge freezer? I would LOVE to do that. Who wants to split a cow with me? 🙂

    • August 29, 2009 2:57 pm

      I have a chest freezer – not a super big one though! If your fridge freezer was pretty empty, I think you could fit it in. Any more meat and it’d be packed though – 3 of us split a 1/2!

  6. August 29, 2009 2:08 pm

    Oh man – I haven’t had sweet potatoes in ages! They look fantastic!!

  7. August 30, 2009 8:14 pm

    If you want to avoid impulse buys, shop with my husband. He’s a man on a mission when we go into stores.

Leave a Reply

