Skip to content

I Have Been Making Oatmeal Wrong

August 27, 2009

my entire life. I’ve been making oatmeal wrong. I thought I loved it – but I didn’t know what I was missing!

 

But we’ll get to that.

 

First, I went for a run this morning 🙂 Such a great start to the day – a beautiful run along the river, and since I went early, it wasn’t too hot yet. My route was 3k – and I’m proud to say I ran most of it! Atleast 2.5k, I think. I love seeing, and feeling how much I improve each week – a few weeks ago, a 1k run felt like a really long distance.

Before I left, I had three crackers with a tiny bit of natural peanut butter on each.

DSC_0484

 

And then when I got home, I discovered I didn’t know how to make oatmeal.

 

Know what I used to do? 1/3 cup rolled oats with 1 C water. And then I’d add a bit of milk once it was cooked.

I was missing out!

Today I mixed 1/3 cup rolled oats with 1/3 cup milk and 2/3 cup water. Oh my goodness! So creamy. So tasty.

 

DSC_0485  Deliciousness: oatmeal (with milk!) + 1 T maple syrup + 1 T White Chocolate Wonderful Peanut Butter.

 

Lunch was last night’s pasta, reheated with a little cottage cheese. I think it was even better today, the zucchini was delicious.DSC_0494    

Maple supervised…

DSC_0488

I’m off to run a few errands – see you later!

 

Tried any small changes lately that made old recipes absolutely wonderful?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2009 4:47 pm

    Your pictures are always so pretty! What kind of camera do you have?

    Your puppy is SO cute.

    I’ve been using steel cut oats instead of rolled lately, and they’re fabulous!

  2. August 27, 2009 11:24 pm

    Your oatmeal does look EXTRA creamy!!! Yum. I’m loving little Maple…what an adorable name!

  3. August 28, 2009 9:39 am

    Try adding a banana at the beginning and whipping it in, it makes the creamiest oats!

    • August 28, 2009 9:41 am

      I love banana in oats Katerina! that + the milk have been two very exciting oatmeal discoveries for me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

