Skip to content

Awkward!

August 25, 2009

 

I have been waiting for this day for a LONG TIME.  And let me tell you, it was worth the wait.

I had just enough peanut butter left in the Dark Chocolate Dreams for oatmeal-in-a-jar. And it was heaven. The chocolate on the sides of the jar got all swirly with the oats. Heaven.

 

DSC_0443

I’ll say it was fun to eat!

DSC_0446

 

And then lunch. Lunch was awkward.

I went out with a group of coworkers (co-students?) for vietnamese. The company itself was not awkward, it was super fun.

The meal itself was ok – I got chicken with vermicelli noodles, which I normally love, but the chicken wasn’t very good. I should have gone for tofu 😉

It wasn’t the picture taking that was awkward – I was too much of a chicken! But it looked like this, but with lots more hot sauce:

         

 

So what was so awkward? PAYING! The meal had initially started out as two of us taking one more out for lunch. And I kinda thought I should be paying for all three of us, just because of the way the project we worked on together was going (is that vague enough? lol!). I was stressing out about this, because I’m broke. I don’t know where all my money went (Target) at the beginning of the month, but I currently have $14 in my personal bank account to last me the week. When more people started coming for lunch, I started super stressing!

And the bill came, and everyone took out cash/credit cards to pay for their own meal. I breathed a sigh of relief. But then one girl ended up paying for everyone!  I felt awful that I couldn’t have offered to pay for everyone myself, since I couldn’t afford it. 😦 I wished we’d all just paid for ourselves, but I felt like I couldn’t offer to pay for myself when no one else was anymore, and I knew I couldn’t take the whole bill.

Anyways, lunch was awkward.

And I have no trips to Target planned for September, so hopefully in a month I’m not writing the same words.

 

When I got home this afternoon, I decided to have some tea. I had raspberry green tea in a real teacup!

DSC_0450

My grandma gave me this teacup at my wedding shower – she got it at her wedding shower! It was much more fun drinking tea out of a real teacup than my usual cheapo cracked coffee mug!

 

I also had a (2) slices of last night’s pizza. Hey, it’s thin crust! 😉

DSC_0447 

Dinner was a let-down. I was all excited about this stir-fry recipe I found, with beef, green beans, onion and sweet potato.

DSC_0460

Yeah. Apparently I don’t like green beans. And sweet potato is weird in a stir-fry.

 

DSC_0462

 

I also had one small muffin tonight – applesauce oatmeal. I popped these in the oven and did a 20 minute Yoga session from Yoga Download while they cooked. It was an excellent combination.

 

Last but not least – I’m on twitter now! again. It hasn’t freaked me out yet, this time. I’m still not sure why it did last time, since I have a public blog and all! Anyways, make sure you follow TWIST on twitter! @thewayiseetoday

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 26, 2009 4:00 pm

    Sorry about your awkward lunch 😦 I hate when the bill comes and you’re with a group…it is so hard to know what to do, I agree!!! Sounds like you handled the situation just fine though. You should absolutely not feel bad about not being able to pay for everyone!!!! I’m sure you do many other nice things and in the end, everyone’s “good deeds” balance out 🙂

Leave a Reply

