Skip to content

Vegetarian Option FAIL

August 22, 2009

 

Why don’t places have more appealing vegetarian options? I was out for lunch with coworkers yesterday, and the two vegetarian options were:

  • tomato + cheese pizza
  • veggie wrap

 

I could have gotten a much healthier meat-based lunch, but it didn’t sound appealing, and I’m really trying to be a committed ethical eater. 

For some reason, I was convinced the pizza would be tiny (it wasn’t), so I ordered the veggie wrap. With sweet potato fries, since I thought I’d need something more hearty than a green salad if all I was having was a veggie wrap (I was right).

The wrap was so disapointing! Iceberg lettuce + 3 shreds of cucumber + 1 slice tomato. Not satisfying in the least. So I had a slice of a friends pizza too. 😉

All in all, Vegetarian Option FAIL.

 

And personal fail, since apparently I took a video of my lunch, not a picture. Sorry folks! It wasn’t exciting anyways.

 

Dinner almost made up for lunch though! I decided to make a much better veggie wrap.

P1020866

With black beans, brown rice, orange pepper, salsa and cheese. Tasty! 

P1020867

 

I had the wrap + one small bowl of toppings.

 

< Insert too much wine. And possibly some drunk toast. oh well >

 

This morning, I woke up starving. But we have no food in the house! Good thing it’s Farmer’s Market Saturday 🙂

 

I scrounged up some toast with natural peanut butter and homemade jam.

 

P1020868

 

Paige at Running Around Normal is having a giveaway! Go enter 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Chelle permalink
    August 23, 2009 7:51 am

    That jam looks delicious! What kind is it?

    And way to go for trying to eat out ethically, even though it turned out kinda crappy. ITA, places need more vegetarian options!

Leave a Reply

