Skip to content

Blogging

August 20, 2009

It seems to be a hot topic lately. What should you blog? How often? And what about sponsors?

For the record, I don’t understand when bloggers talk about the pressure to blog. To me, a blog is very much a voluntary thing. If you don’t want to blog 3x a day – why would you? I also don’t really get all this hoopla about sponsors. I very much think people should be upfront about free products, but that’s the extent of my opinion on the subject!

I don’t know how many posts I’ve read in the last week that cover these topics, and it’s got me thinking about myself – why am I blogging? and what do I want TWIST  to be about?

I want recipes and thoughts and research on healthy living.

I want TWIST to stand out.

I think this can be partly done by talking about Ethical Eating, but my pal Erin is much more knowledgeable about the subject than I am. I’m an Ethical Eating newbie.

But I also want to extend beyond Ethical Eating  to Ethical Living. I love finding cheap, simple and green solutions for around the home. I love to bake, and I’ve recently started canning, and storing seasonal products for the winter.

So the future of twist lies in Healthy and Ethical Living.  And a better catchphrase.

 

For the record, healthy living sometimes includes french fries:

 

P1020857

 

Lunch today was at Opa! I had a Fava Souvlaki pita, with french fries. And lots of Tzatziki!

 

Earlier, breakfast was a familiar friend:

 

P1020856

 

Oatmeal with cinnamon, almonds, white chocolate peanut butter and milk.

 

What are your thoughts on blogging? Why do you blog? What is your blog about?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2009 4:39 pm

    I blog about getting fit, which is my main focus right now. I’m not in it for free stuff or money…just as a way to get my story out there and keep myself motivated. Also, it serves as a sort of digital scrapbook of my efforts.

    I will say that some healthy eating/food bloggers are clearly more sponsored than others, but I still find what they have to say interesting for the most part. If I for any reason don’t find a blog interesting anymore, I simply stop reading it. I know that they get free products all the time, so I take their reviews with a grain of salt. If I find the product interesting, I’ll try it out at least once and make up my own mind. Food and fitness are very subjective areas.

    P.S. – Love your blog!! 🙂

  2. Brandi permalink
    August 20, 2009 6:37 pm

    Amen to french fries 🙂

    I don’t understand the pressure for blogging either. I do usually post 3x a day, but I enjoy it! I wanted a place to shared recipes and tips with my family and be able to talk about health topics with others who have similar interests and passions.

Leave a Reply

