Skip to content

Granola Bars: Take 1

August 19, 2009
tags:

DSC_0407

It’s been a life-long goal of mine to make a homemade granola bar.

I remember being about 6 or 8 years old, and getting it in my head that store-bought granola bars were unhealthy, yet contained healthy ingredients like oatmeal. ah, how wise I was! 😉

So this weekend I tried to act on this goal. I kind of succeeded. I like it – it’s simple and quite tasty. But too crumbly – it needs improvement. The recipe is loosely based on this one

Ingredients

  • 1.5 C rolled oats
  • 1 C puffed millet
  • 1/2 C unsweetened coconut flakes
  • 1/4 C chopped almonds
  • 1/4 C sunflower seeds
  • 1/4 C natural peanut butter
  • 1/4 C honey
  • 1/4 C brown sugar

Directions

Combine first 5 ingredients

DSC_0403

Combine peanut butter, honey and sugar in saucepan. Heat on medium until sugar dissolves. Add peanut butter mixture to dry mixture.

DSC_0404

Pour into a baking pan (either grease pan or use parchment paper). Bake at 350* for 15 minutes.

DSC_0409

Let cool completely. Cut into individual bars (suggested: 12). Store in an airtight container.

DSC_0411

The taste of this granola bar was excellent, but it is too crumbly for my liking. I’m planning on trying some modifications this weekend.

I’ve heard using brown rice syrup would work well, but that stuff is so expensive! I want these granola bars to be cheap (cost less than it would cost me to buy bars), simple (ingredients to be found at a regular grocery store), and easy.

Any suggestions?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

