Skip to content

Success!

August 15, 2009

 

Something you should know about me… I really suck at making banana bread. I don’t know why! I’ve tried tons of different recipes, and mine never turns out. But I love banana bread, so I’m always willing to again.

 

And for the first time, I’ve succeeded! Sweet and soft inside, firm and slightly crunchy crust, and delicious dark colour. Success!

P1020840

 

I owe it all to Jenna’s recipe. My only change was that I ran out of vanilla, so didn’t use the entire 2 tsp. It still worked (but would have been even better with the correct amount of vanilla!)

 

P1020841

 

Blurry picture, with a little butter. (:( for blurry pictures!)

 

Dinner was a classic at our house: teriyaki chicken! And it’s super easy. Combine chicken breasts or thighs with 1/2 bottle of teriyaki sauce in crockpot. Cook on low for 6-8 hours. About an hour before serving, combine 1 T cornstarch with 2 T water. Add to crockpot and stir. (The teriyaki sauce will have thinned as it cooks, so the cornstarch thickens it back up!).

 

Add rice to rice cooker. Add water. Turn on 🙂 (I just bought a rice cooker last week. Where has this wonderful thing been all my life? Brown rice cooked in 45 minutes and was so good!)

 

P1020842

It would have been even better with some stir-fried carrots + pineapple + zucchini, but alas, I had none of those.

 

 

This morning I woke up bright and early to go to the Farmer’s Market. I had a slice of banana bread while running out the door.

 

P1020843

 

And I found theHusband standing and staring at the cupcakes. He didn’t have to twist my arm too hard though 😉

 

(Left: Chocolate Peanut butter for theHusband. Right: Cookies and Cream for me. delish!)

P1020844

 

I need some fruit and vegetables! Luckily, we bought $13 worth of blueberries 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 15, 2009 9:03 pm

    Those cupcakes look amazing!! Glad your banana bread turned out great 🙂

Leave a Reply

