Skip to content

Banana Bars

August 10, 2009

I’ve come across a few recipes for homemade Larabars, and decided to give it a try this weekend. It was so easy!

 

DSC_0356

 

Ingredients

  • Dried Fruit
    • 3/4 C Dates
    • 3/4 C Banana
  • Nuts
    • 1/2 C Almonds
  • Spices
    • Cinnamon
    • Vanilla

DSC_0357DSC_0359 

 

Directions

In a food processor, chop almonds.

DSC_0361

 

Remove almonds. Add in dried fruit and spices and chop until it blends together (if you only have a mini food processor, like me, you’ll have to do this in batches)

 

DSC_0362

 

Roll combined fruit in the almonds.

 

DSC_0364

 

DSC_0365

 

Sandwich combined fruit and almonds in a sheet of wax or parchment paper. Roll out as flat as you can with a rolling pin.

 

DSC_0366

 

 DSC_0368

 

Cut into as many servings as you like. I cut mine into 6, which I estimate to be about 200 calories each.

 

DSC_0369

 

and that’s it. 10 minutes, including wrapping in plastic. Which, if you are like me, will take you longer than all the other steps combined 😉

 

Give it a try! Easy and tasty. And cheap! 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. littlehouseonthegreatflats permalink
    August 11, 2009 6:38 pm

    Those look so good! I have to try this. But I don’t like dates. Any suggestions for what I could substitute?

    • Allison permalink
      August 11, 2009 7:31 pm

      I don’t like dates either – but the bananas seem to mask the taste! haha. But I think any dried fruit would work – I bet cherries would be really good!

Leave a Reply

