Skip to content

30 pounds of tomatoes

August 7, 2009

Yeah, you read that right. I bought THIRTY pounds of tomatoes at the Farmer’s Market today.

 

P1020793

 

At $30 for 30 pounds, I figured it was too good of a deal to pass up! I also got:

 

P1020794

  • blueberries
  • mini thing o’ raspberries
  • free-range chicken sausage

P1020795

  • honey

 

P1020796

  • eggs
  • onions
  • corn
  • potatoes

I had to make a few trips to the car, what with my THIRTY POUNDS of tomatoes! What am I going to do with THIRTY POUNDS of tomatoes? (and all those blueberries?) I’ll give you a hint!

 

P1020797

 

I rounded out the grocery shopping today at Superstore where I got:

P1020798

 

  • monster strawberries (I couldn’t find ANY at the FM!)
  • bananas
  • peaches (the one’s at the Farmer’s Market looked better, but I didn’t think I wanted peaches until I’d already left!)

P1020801

 

  • lemon juice
  • yogurt
  • and some boring stuff like milk and cheddar. and flour.

I also picked up some Free From Chicken thighs:

 

P1020799

 

$12.49 a kg is much more than “regular” chicken, but much less than the $28/kg I saw at the Farmer’s Market! I don’t know though – I wonder if the reasonable middle price is an indicator that it’s still too close to the “regular” chicken and too far away from organic.

 

P1020800

 

They aren’t organic, but as Erin pointed out, if the birds aren’t kept in overcrowded areas, they won’t need antibiotics to be healthy. I’m trying to find out as much as I can about Free From products – I don’t know about you all, but the price of organic chicken knocks me over every time I look. I’m hoping this might be a reasonable compromise between Ethical Eating… and my wallet.

Leave a Reply

