Skip to content

Fast Food

July 30, 2009

I’m reading Fast Food Nation right now, so no surprise that I’ve got fast food on my brain. Anyways, two Fast Food musings:

  • Every time I see an ad for McDonald’s ‘teriyaki’ line, my stomach turns. This sounds disgusting!
  • theHusband and I stopped at A&W for Root Beer Floats tonight. It was something that sounded better than it tasted. We both decided we’d have been much better off stopping at a grocery store to buy ice cream and root beer, and make our own. It’d have probably been cheaper too, with ice cream to spare!  😉

P1020783

 

Besides the ickiness above, today was an excellent day! I started out with an omelette (1 egg + 2 egg whites) with bell pepper, onion, ham and cheese. Not the prettiest picture, but extremely tasty!

 

P1020762

 

Mid-morning I went for a great run/walk, and followed it up with this smoothie:

  • strawberries
  • peach
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1 C almond milk
  • vanilla protein powder

P1020770

 

Lunch was simple, with another Jalapeno Corn tortilla! I added red pepper and white bean dip and some cheddar. On the side was some of the free range Farmer’s Sausage I got at the Farmer’s Market this week.

 

P1020771

 

On my way home, I took a small detour and walked over to Starbucks to get an iced coffee. My plan was to try and find a bar of some sort at Safeway, but no such luck. Instead I had a small scone. (‘twas a nice substitute! 😉 ). I wasn’t a big fan of the iced coffee though, I thought it was just coffee + milk, but it was too sweet to be that.

 

Dinner was excellent – fajitas!

 

P1020782 

 

 

I made three. 🙂

 

I think the scone pushed me too far over what I should have eaten calorie-wise today. I need to stock up on some emergency snacks!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

