Skip to content

Hands Down

July 27, 2009

Coolest thing I’ve ever made.

BUTTER!

Last week, my friend Chelle made butter from scratch to avoid hydrogenated fats, and ‘natural flavors’. I thought it was a fantastic idea, and it seemed easy enough. So I decided to give it a try, and I am so glad I did! 😀

At the Farmer’s Market this weekend, I bought 1 cup of organic, heavy cream.

DSC_0302

I poured it into my KitchenAid mixer, and started to whip the cream:

DSC_0305

No surprise, it quickly turned into whipped cream!

DSC_0307

After about five minutes, I started to see flecks of yellow appear:

DSC_0308

It started to get a little crumbly:

DSC_0309

After about ten minutes, I was starting to think nothing more would happen. And then all of a sudden, the butter started to separate, and buttermilk appeared!

DSC_0310

Amazing. I poured out the buttermilk, and rinsed the butter three times with cold water.

One cup of heavy cream yielded approximately one half cup of buttermilk, and one half cup of butter

DSC_0318 DSC_0320

so tasty! and easy! fifteen minutes start to finish. and I know exactly what went into it: cream!

One Comment leave one →
  1. littlehouseonthegreatflats permalink
    July 27, 2009 11:34 am

    Yay yay yay! So glad you made it! I see you were wondering if it would ever work at the same point I was!

Leave a Reply

